Motion pictures were first exhibited in Dunellen in 1911. Throughout that decade, numerous attempts
were made to operate a Theatre in the Middlesex County locale. Finally, in 1921, construction began on
a $14,000, 500-seat movie theatre.
Hosford’s Theatre opened on North Avenue in May 1922, featuring both vaudeville acts and motion
pictures. After several run-ins with local law enforcement due to management’s occasional attempts to
violate “Blue Laws” by exhibiting films on Sundays, the Theatre was sold to the owner of the Brook
Theatre in nearby Bound Brook. By 1932, after a brief time as “Dunellen’s Cameo Theatre”, the facility
had become known as the Dunellen Theatre. The current theatre owner, who is also the owner of the
neighboring Zupko’s Tavern, has recently removed extra seats, and added cocktail-style tables between
theatre rows. The additional tables are the perfect size to accommodate meals and beverages while
watching a show, for an even better experience.